In Pursuit of Happiness, to be brave or stupid

In my quest to pay off my debt I have been trying to think of ways to either reduce my expenses or increase my income. I like my lifestyle and I am not about to give up dreams of being surrounded by Designers Guild fabrics and Vivienne Westwood wall paper so I am trying to find a second job.

Photo courtesy of www.designersguild.com

I’ve been trolling the internet for hours trying to find something that I have the ability to do and the time to do it in. I have little to no desire for a dead end uncreative second job and I seem to be able to find (rather quickly) an excuse not to do everything. Underqualified, wrong hours, pay too low. Then I wonder why I can’t find anything! Since I have realised that I am just making excuses I am going to step up the search by letting go of my pride and doing whatever I can get. Today I even replied to this ad:

looking for a part-time job that doesn’t involve waiting tables? If waiting tables, cleaning houses, or working as a barista has gotten old, this may be an opportunity for both of us. I like water sports, the natural environment, and good restaurants but I feel silly going alone. No games.

Brave or stupid is my question. Where do you draw the line? I know I can be a little naïve and I want to believe the best in people. You could read the ad in 2 ways right? Intriging, intersting, challenging or dirty, sleazy scary. Am I just an idiot arse boarding down a sand dune? Seemed like a good idea at the time but quite silly in hindsight?

(Thank you Ricky Gervais, thank you)

